Breaking News
Home » Fantasy » Fantasy Movies » The Jerry Goldsmith Awards

The Jerry Goldsmith Awards

Jerry_GoldsmithFrom SoundtrackNet – The International Film Music Festival ‘Province of Cordoba’ has opened submissions for the Jerry Goldsmith Awards. The Jerry Goldsmiths are given each year as part of the activities of the festival. This is the eighth edition of the awards. The awards acknowledge the work of young composers just getting started in the audiovisual field such as film, television, advertising, or related media. it is also open to composers who, despite having a professional career, have not received mainstream recognition.

The Jerry Goldsmith Awards are given in eight categories – original film score, live action short film, animated short film, documentary, original free creation, advertising, promotion and song and adding a ninth award for Best Composer in any category. These awards have helped launch the careers of several of its finalists and winners, such as Lucas Vidal, Arnau Bataller, Zeltia Montes, Marc Vaillo, Zacharias M. De la Riva, Sergio de la Puente, Marc Helm, James Peterson, Aritz Villodas and others.

Jerry Goldsmith himself was arguably one of the greatest and most influential film composers of the 20th century and composed many beautiful and memorable scores over his career for many noteworthy and popular films such as the Star Trek films and he collaborated with many important film directors such as Ridley Scott, Roman Polanski, Steven Spielberg and most notable, Franklin J. Shaffner’s films such as Planet of the Apes, Patton and Papillon. Goldsmith’s style was influenced by early 20th- century classical music, notably Modernism, Americana, Impressionism, Dodecaphonism, and early film scores.He has cited Igor Stravinksy, Aaron Copeland, Bernard Herrmann, Béla Bartók and others, as some of the main influences to his musical style.

Submissions will be open until May 15th. Any composer, regardless of their nationality or country of residence, will be considered. Composers interested in participating should visit the website A jury appointed by the Board of Directors of the BSO Spirit Association (organizers of the Festival, together with the Provincial Government of Córdoba and the company Leitmotiv Music) will reach a decision to determine the semifinalists in each of the categories. The organization will then appoint another jury comprised by composers, musicologists, film critics and audiovisual professionals in general, to select the winners, who will be announced at the Jerry Goldsmith Awards Gala, to celebrate during the festival.

One composer from the eight winners will receive the Jerry Goldsmith Award for Best Composer. That recipient will be invited to participate in the next edition of the Festival as a speaker on the panel of young composers to be held that year. The French composer Mathieu Alvado won the award last year in recognition for his works in the Short-Live Action film L’attaque du monstre géant suceur de cerveaux de l’espace, and the Short-Animated film Who’s Afraid of Mr. Greedy?.

For more information or to apply for consideration, visit

About the author

[author_image timthumb=’on’][/author_image] [author_info]Victoria A. Jeffrey is a published author who loves to write and read fantasy, science fiction and poetry. She also loves music, history, cooking and nearly anything Tolkien related.[/author_info]


About adpoole

One comment

  1. Very nice article! Thanks Victoria!